The City of American Canyon City Council standing in front of a field of grass.

Left to Right: Vice Mayor David Oro ,Council Member Mark Joseph, Mayor Leon Garcia, Council Members Kenneth Leary and Mariam Aboudamous

The City Council is the legislative body which consists of four elected City Council members and a directly elected Mayor. The Mayor and the Council Members are elected to four year overlapping terms. The City Council works to enhance the community and the quality of life for American Canyon residents. They provide policy direction and set goals and priorities for the City and also serve as the Board of Directors for the Fire District.

Regular meetings of the City Council and the Fire District Board of Directors are held the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 PM in the Council Chambers at 4381 Broadway, Suite 201, unless otherwise noted. These meetings are broadcast live on public access cable channel 28 and are also accessible live via streaming or from the video archives on our website.

Some of the City Council’s major responsibilities are as follows:

  • Implement policy decisions through the enactment of ordinances and resolutions
  • Encourage broad resident participation and information sharing about City activities and issues
  • Balance community needs with available resources
  • Setting priorities and establishing goals


Leon Garcia, Mayor
David Oro, Vice Mayor
Mark Joseph, Council Member
Kenneth Leary, Council Member
Mariam Aboudamous, Council Member